08
Nov
12

Kamersvol Geskenke 2012 (plants & flowers)

On the 25th October, 2012, I visited Lourensford Wine Estate for Kamersvol Geskenke 2012. It was the very first time I had ever experienced this! As a Freelance Photographer I went there with the purpose of taking photographs to enter The Pretty Blog’s Photographic Competition that they were running. When I got there I received a ‘media’ badge which allowed me to ask the exhibitors whether they minded me taking photographs of their stalls. I had a wonderful five and a half hours walking around photographing all the wonderful things that interested me and managed to speak to, and make friends, with some of the exhibitors as well. I had had about 2 to 3 months of very busy weeks tending to family matters and thought this would be a great opportunity for a bit of ‘me-time’ which it truly was. In the end I chickened out of entering my photographs. So here are some of them and I hope that you will enjoy my perspective on the event. If there is anyone who would like any of the photographs to use for their blogs or websites then please let me know by contacting me via this blog or email me at laurette9@hotmail.com. This post is about the flowers or flower related exhibitors. In the following posts I will include some of the other items that caught my eye.

 

 

Absolutely beautiful colour greeted me as I walked into the entrance of the first Section!

These magnificent Irises I had never seen in my life before and I was completed intrigued by their colouring!

A couple of years ago I had been a stall holder at The Market at Hathersage and Succulent Oasis was one of the stall holders there.  This is one of her beautiful creations!

I loved this pottery wall container with one of our beautiful indigenous plants growing in it!

The colouring of this was magnificent with some of my most favourite shades!

The ever popular artichoke which is so in vogue right now!

I loved this display as pink is one of my favourite colours!

What one can do with the simple artichoke!

This stallholder called Opus Studio created the most beautiful  items, which I was told, takes hours to create.

Another one of Opus Studio’s beautiful creations!

Opus Studio created this beautiful hanging of shells!

Pansies which are one of my favourites as they are such happy flowers which fill our lives with ‘sunshine’.

Beautiful King Proteas were used to display the beautiful cutout Butterflies!

These Chincherees were used to display an interesting crochet covered bottle at the stall belonging to Elsebeth Eksteen the artist.

3 Responses to “Kamersvol Geskenke 2012 (plants & flowers)”


  1. December 20, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    My teacher gave me the link to this blog, and she
    was absolutely right! Keep up all the excellent work!

  2. April 23, 2013 at 10:06 am

    Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through some of the articles I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!


Leave a Reply

